Dan Introduces Hannah’s Poem for the New Year

You may or may not know that Hannah is quite the poet.  In fact, she is one of my favorite poets!  I love this poem of hers and asked her if I could post it for this her 69th birthday, February 6, 2017.   She introduces her poem with this quote from Dr. Albert Schweitzer.

Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into instant flame by an encounter with another human being. Each of us owes the deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this inner light. 

Love’s Pure Light

Another year before me,

behind me many more;

each has taught me in its own way

what I have come here for. 

.

Learning, healing every day

is what I’m here to do.

Things happen for, not to me;

every day I start brand new.

.

To be who I was sent to be –

an expression of Love’s light;

may I help another live in faith ~

they’ll get through Life’s darkest night.

.

It’s others who keep my own light lit;

you keep my heart unfurled.

Each of you, a breath of grace:

Together we light the world.

Hannah Banana (2017)

8 thoughts on “Dan Introduces Hannah’s Poem for the New Year

  1. I AWOKE KNOWING THIS WAS A SPECIAL DAY AND NOW I KNOW WHY!
    A SPECIAL DAY FOR A SPECIAL LADY !!!! WISH I WAS THERE TO HELP BLOW OUT A CANDLE!

Leave a comment