Dan and What He is Holding On To… – KGUA #65

For the November 1, 2021 KGUA radio Morning Writer’s Hour hosted by Mark Gross and Peggy Berryhill in Gualala, California, we are asked to freewrite to this prompt: “What is Something You Hold On To?”

I am holding on to the belief that this seventh decade of my life is the best ever.  Who’d a thought being a geezer, an old goat, a codger would make these past ten years my my crème de la creme, my pick of the litter, and my cream of the crop.  I have my health, I have a flexible schedule where I don’t have to squeeze things in as I did when I was in the work force.  We have the resources to travel and be generous.  We hike and pickle.  Life is good.

You must be thinking, surely there are other decades in your prime that are contenders.  Well, let’s examine the facts,

The first ten years as a kid in suburbia were fine but the details escape me.  Let’s chalk those years up as challengers to the past decade.

Teenage years?  Dead last.  Though good high school friends, my insecurities just ran amok. 

Twenties – I got to say this might earn the silver medal.  Going to Arizona State changed my life for the better and I wooed and married the girl of my dreams – One Hannah Kraai.

Thirties – By far, our three kids are what Hannah and I are most proud of.  But parenting young-‘uns is just exhausting.  We survived.

Forties – Teaching middle schoolers!  Nuff said.  Didn’t make my top ten.

Fifties – I’m thinking I have the bronze here as I got my dream job – teaching at the university.

The above roll call has not changed my mind that these past ten years remain numero uno.  Time, health, resources,  and choices.  Oh and one more thing, I’m still doing it all with the girl of my dreams.

Words – 278

5 thoughts on “Dan and What He is Holding On To… – KGUA #65

Leave a comment