Dan and Hannah and Her Spasmodic Dysphonia  Part 8

Hannah reflects on her future living with spasmodic dysphonia.

Can’t say that I came home feeling totally hope-full or convinced that “all shall be well” with my voice after my five-day workshop in Apollo Beach, FL. 

BUT!  Beginning with listening to Sheryl Sandberg’s commencement address at the University of California, Berkeley (in the Tampa airport), my hopefull-ness factor rose.

As her friend Phil said, after Sheryl’s husband died just over a year ago, “Plan A is no longer available; let’s kick the shit out of Plan B.”  I’ve decided a “perfect” voice is no longer available as a Plan A, but I’m ready and willing to make the very most of (and kick the s*it out of) Plan B.

Working in the backyard this afternoon – with some of the tools provided at the voice clinic by Connie Pike’s team – I am encouraged and hopeful and realize, yes, it will take time to develop my new voice.  But that’s a gift I have – time.   And, I’ve got companions and cheerleaders along my way.

So, on with Plan B.  Not everyone gets time to implement and enjoy Plan B.     

Lucky me.  Hannah

Dan here.  By the way, here is the link to the Sheryl Sandberg‘s commencement address that Hannah referenced.   Click on Sheryl’s name.   It’s fantastic and well worth your twenty minutes.

3 thoughts on “Dan and Hannah and Her Spasmodic Dysphonia  Part 8

Leave a Reply

