Dan, a Philosophy Major Thanks to Pete Carroll (Part 1 of 2)

PC Win ForeverI am really getting into Pete Carroll’s Win Forever: Live, Work, and Play like a Champion.  Pete is the Super Bowl winning (2014) and losing (2015) coach of the Seattle Seahawks.  Valuing all life’s experiences, not just when things go well, he learns from them and is better for them.  The central premise to Win Forever is that one needs to articulate a philosophy in order to succeed in the workplace.

Without a group of guiding principles as a philosophy, your job, team, group, or mission can be aimless.  Too much seat-of-the-pants decision-making can make success hit or miss.

Win Forever Pyramid

Win Forever Pyramid

Pete’s own philosophy applies to his work place: coaching football players.  Do things better than they have ever been done before.  Respect everyone with great effort and great enthusiasm.  No whining, no complaining, no excuses.  And one of my favorites – Be early.   His pyramid-shaped philosophy continues with the importance of competition, practice, and confidence.  He has lots of crossover points for us all.

He got me thinking of the value of a philosophy would have been for me as a teacher.  As a teacher I had a sense of what I wanted to do.   I trusted my instincts, but I didn’t have the template of a philosophy to refer to that would keep my teaching consistent with my beliefs on a daily basis.

No matter our profession, Pete challenges us to articulate our philosophy in 25 words or less.  Are you with me?  Tomorrow’s blog has my philosophy of classroom learning for preservice teachers; it’s down to 10 words and one is of.  Please post yours on my blog after I take the first step.

3 thoughts on “Dan, a Philosophy Major Thanks to Pete Carroll (Part 1 of 2)

  1. This is so timely for me, Dan! Yesterday I had a parent write and say he was looking forward to meeting me and learning about my classroom philosophy. I thought “Hmmmm…how am I going to articulate that? Can I?” and then I remembered all the thought that went into creating the required philosophy statement for job applications. (I wonder where that went!) It occurred to me that it would be a valuable exercise to craft a revised philosophy statement now that I have seven years under my belt. I love the challenge of doing so in 25 words or less and I look forward to reading yours!

Leave a Reply

