Dan and Hannah Have Different Approaches to their Medical Issues (Part 1 of 2)

Exhibit A – Hannah

Spider Woman

Spider Woman with her magic tape

You may remember that three years ago Hannah had successful surgery to repair her busted left tibia after a waterskiing mishap.  Lately, it’s her right knee joint that has been giving her trouble.  Two weeks ago, she limped noticeably and could not even go to the gym to workout.  Hannah’s approach to her injury is home self-care; allow it to heal on its own.  Eventually she did consult with a physical therapist friend who recommended lots of rest and magic tape.  Hannah’s done well not being stupid (her words) and has taken it easy.  Lately, her gait is steadier as she now can walk nearly a mile and slow-bike up to eight miles.

Hannah feels our bodies heal themselves if we give them time. She also does not want to burden the already overburdened health care system with unnecessary visits to the doctor.  For much of her young life, she just went down to the hall in her childhood home to see her dad, Doc Kraai, for any ailments.  She’s also just tough and has a high pain tolerance.  After breaking her leg, it was 14 hours before she went to see the doctor.  She had a glass of wine in the interim.

Exhibit B – Dan

I on the other hand can be soft.  I am all for using my Medicare coverage whenever I feel the need.

KFP logoUpon feeling a faint sensation below my right ear time and again for the past five days, I decide to have it checked out.  It turns out my primary care physician of 30 years, Dr. Graziano, at Kittery Family Practice here in southern Maine, is on hospital duty this week and is not available; thankfully there is another veteran on the staff, Dr. Thaler, with an open 215P appointment for me.

For forty minutes, Dr. Thaler questions, listens, and examines me thoroughly and still is unable to find anything that may explain the slight intermittent sensation I’ve been feeling in my neck. Checking my medical history, he wonders if there is a connection to my “health episode” 13 years ago.

Windham HospitalIn the fall of 2002, at the start of my Teaching Reading course to 25 graduate students at Eastern Connecticut State University, I began turning pale and my vision blurred such that I couldn’t even read the names of the students on my class list.   Very shortly thereafter, my department chair, Dr. Stoloff, drove me to the Windham Hospital ER in Willimantic to see what was up.  By that time, I was losing my memory.  I couldn’t even remember the names of my Eastern colleagues.  Then it was our kids’ names that seemed to be going down a tunnel away from me.  I was alert enough to wonder if I would have to learn how to use a fork and knife again.  I also couldn’t speak.  Let me tell you I was spooked. (to be continued tomorrow)

3 thoughts on “Dan and Hannah Have Different Approaches to their Medical Issues (Part 1 of 2)

  1. Health, it is either an elusive goal or taken for granted until it reaches out and smacks you. Oh, and I’m jealous or envious, not sure which, of Dan’s college sweatshirt collection. Ain’t gettin’ old fun?

  2. Wait a little minutes! What a cliff-hanger! Are you checking to see if we are paying attention? Did a family emergency intervene? Oh well, I won’t worry too much as you are still here 13 years later.

Leave a Reply

