Resume Virtues or Eulogy Virtues

In the Sunday New York Times (April 12, 2015), David Brooks wrote about A Moral Bucket List. Here’s his lead – About once a month I run across a person who radiates an inner light. These people can be in any walk of life. They seem deeply good. They listen well. They make you feel funny and valued.

Are you that kind of person? Am I? I know Hannah is.

VirtuesDavid and I go way back; I’ve seen him on PBS News Hour for years.

He wonders if he has done more for his résumé than his eulogy. The résumé virtues are the skills you bring to the marketplace while the eulogy virtues are the ones that are talked about at your funeral — whether you were kind, brave, honest or faithful. Were you capable of deep love?

At 67, I still have the time to do something about my lasting virtues. I’m not going anywhere soon. I mean in a great beyond sort of way, as far as I know.

Wondering what is one way to live the eulogy virtues?  You’ve come to the right spot.  Write your own eulogy.  Sounds doable, oui?  Make it no more than 250 words so the task doesn’t seem overwhelming (about the length of this mini-blog).  Read it each Monday and keep it in your frontal lobe as you head out the door each day.  Sure it takes a little effort, but this could be big!   And truly, the goal is not so you get a bang up eulogy; it’s the purposeful life you will live.

Click on the link above for David’s full column. It will blow you away.

Leave a Reply

