Monogamous by Nature

I’m reading Stephen King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. Though I am no fan of his horror genre, I was intrigued by his line that he and his wife were “monogamous by nature.” I guess some folks are; others not. Hmmm. I always thought monogamy was a choice.

Circa 1976

Circa 1976

Now that I think of it, I would say I’m monogamous by nature. That’s easy to say, you might be thinking. You married a knockout. But that criterion alone wouldn’t be enough to ensure monogamy.  Nightly, Entertainment Tonight and E! News trumpet the failed marriages of celebrity after celebrity.

So, my monogamy is by nature. I’ll take it. It’s not will power. I don’t deserve any credit; it’s just me; my DNA. I don’t judge those who are not. I just am. Monogamous by nature makes life less complicated. It’s easier to be the role model as a father I want to be.  I just am.

Still, I doubt it’s that simple.  There are so many variables in a life.  Yet it seems to ring true that I am monogamous by nature. I just never thought of it that way.

You?

Leave a Reply

