Final Thoughts on 29 Gifts in 29 Days

Cami Walker

Cami Walker

So my 29 days of giving based on Cami Walker’s 29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change your Life comes to an end.  Some thoughts:

Reflection MonkeesAs the Monkees (circa 1966) said, I am a believer.  I do believe daily giving can change your life.  Whoa, big fella, let’s take it down a notch, you might be thinking.  I really do.  I believe active giving can get you out of your own way and make sense of your world, your purpose.

Day 8 ellipticals

I got more than I gave.  Reading to my friend Vin or saving the elliptical machine at the gym for Hannah are examples of the glow that lives in me when I give.

Rather than money, my gifts often have been a giving of myself.  Something we can all do, even if we have little money.  Going to visit a friend in the hospital or seeking out a friend for connection were more the norm for me than gifts that cost money.

I have to be intentional to give.  There’s this private time of joy I have in bed early in the morning when I think about my upcoming day and where giving might occur.

Giving helps me build my connections and sense of community with my friends and family.

Day 5 FPC

As I look back I found that being a member of church gives me many opportunities to give beyond putting money in the collection plate.

The subtext for this experiment was to have you consider taking on the 29 Days of Giving challenge in your home town.  Giving can be a meaningful, seamless part of your daily life.  Maybe it already is.  If not, think of the 1971 Alka Seltzer catch phrase:  Try it; you’ll like it.

Reflection Speedy Alka Seltzer

It just may change your life.

Leave a Reply

