Dan Takes the 29 Day Gift Giving Challenge: Day 1 – Changing lives

After reading Cami Walker’s 29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change your Life fourteen months ago, I tried giving a gift every day for 29 days to change my life.  I thought by establishing a gift giving habit that I would continue to make daily gift giving a regular part of my life.  The jury is out whether I’ve really changed.  I can be generous; not Hannah generous, but I have my moments.  I need to have gift giving in my frontal lobe (i.e., having gift giving on my daily “to do” list.).  So these next 29 daily blog entries (three paragraphs each day) are a record of my second chance of becoming a daily gift giver.  Come along for the ride.

The inspiration behind my 29 Days of Giving

The inspiration behind my 29 Days of Giving

As I sit with coffee in my comfy swivel chair in our living room, I look out on Chases Pond Road and think about my opening day of giving.  Stacy comes to mind.  She is relocating and leaving her position as manager of the Coastal Fitness gym in Kittery where Hannah and I have been going four to five times per week ever since I retired from teaching two years ago.  I pin my day around pumping on the elliptical, high stepping on the inclined treadmill, and pedaling the recumbent bicycle.

Day 8 ellipticals

More times than not, Stacy is there with a welcoming, “glad you’re here” smile.  I feel less anonymous.  With modest culinary talents, I dump flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, a little salt and yeast into my bread machine and make a pretty fair loaf of oatmeal bread.  When I deliver the warm, fresh-baked loaf, she smiles, thanks me, and we hug good bye.   Off and running on my gift giving quest.

Homemade oatmeal bread at its finest

Homemade oatmeal bread at its finest

One thought on “Dan Takes the 29 Day Gift Giving Challenge: Day 1 – Changing lives

  1. I’m impressed with your desire to be a good Christian and take the spirit of Christmas and extend it beyond the holidays!! I’m also impressed with your ability to go to the gym five days a week!! Run, Dan, Run, — Give, Dan, Give!!!!

Leave a Reply

