Day 9 of 29 Gifts in 29 Days September 7 “To linger”

As I posted two days ago, two to three times per week I read to my sightless friend Vin.  He has a number of us “readers” who come to engage him for a spell and, in fact, brighten our day with the time together.  I can only imagine what it’s like being blind.  If it were I, I would crave companionship and conversation.  Vin inhabits a world of gratitude such that it’s a joy to be in his presence.  My gift today is to linger.  Though I usually read for an hour, today I’m staying til my voice cries “uncle.”

Another reader has him fully engaged in the story of the Battle of Midway during World War II.  Before we start to read today, Vin mentions he’d like some more background on that battle and asks if I can order the movie Midway with Hank Fonda and Charlie Heston.  Who knew that the Imperial Japanese Navy had been undefeated until that time (June 1942) and out-numbered the American naval forces by four to one?  With access to a film library throughout the state of Maine, I order this 1976 film through the York Public Library.  A simple gesture on mine part, but one I know that will illuminate his day.

The gift of lingering with a listening heart is about as good as a gift can be.

Leave a Reply

